Skip to main content

Home Page
The Farmhouse
Menu
Cheese Course
Wines
Otto's Bar
Hours/Reservations
Location/Contact Info
What People Are Saying
$30 Chef's Tasting Menu

What People Are Saying

 

From OpenTable.com

 


Wonderful as usual! Dined on November 21, 2015

Never disappoints! Food was wonderful. Service was great. I had the Sea bass and mashed potatoes. Happy taste buds I must say. My partner had the Ribeye steak special with the brandy cream sauce, one of the best steaks he's ever had he says. Salads are tasty and desserts are just ridiculously delicious and decadent.


Two generations Dined on November 10, 2015

Pleasant and appropriate dining and surroundings. Gracious and knowledgeable service, with good familiarity with needs for one of our group who has Celiac disease. We arrived in two groups, and the head desk quickly identified those already seated.


Great place! Dined on October 15, 2015

Had some out of town quests coming so wanted a nice place to take them. otto's filled the bill. they have great servers, the food is consistently good and portion size great.


Always excellent! Dined on October 13, 2015

This is our go to restaurant. Reliably good, excellent service and the tasting menu adds variety.


Reliably good. Dined on August 29, 2015

Otto's doesn't disappoint. The tomato bisque is excellent and I always recommend the scallops. We dined with friends and they were notably impressed with the quality of the food and professionalism of the wait staff. This is a restaurant the remains on our go to list.


We are frequent fliers and love Otto's. Dined on July 28, 2015

I would and do recommend this place to everyone and anyone. The food is out of this world, as is the setting, whether inside or out. The service is always top-notch and gracious. The ambience cannot be beat. It is like dining in your best friend's home.


Great gem in the west side of Madison, WI Dined on June 11, 2015

I had been to Otto's in the fall before the management changed. I had read mixed reviews after this as to how the restaraunt was doing. We were there on a Thursday to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had s drink and an app at the bar. The service was great and the shrimp wrapped prosciutto with basil was delicious! For dinner, my husband had the rack of lamb and I had seared scallops. Both of our dishes were delicious! For desert my husband had the turtle cheese cake and I had the creme brûlée. They put a cute candle in the cheesecake and comped it since it was his birthday. The service downstairs at the bar sand upstairs in the dining room was great! Ambience was perfect. Great gem on the west side of Madison, WI!


Amazing Food! Dined on April 23, 2015

Quite possibly the best steak I have ever eaten - perfectly cooked, tender and tasty, served hot with a generous dollop of gorgonzola butter. The crab cake appetizer with curry ginger jam was absolutely delicious. We were totally pleased with every bite of our meal.


Great restaurant in a historic house. Dined on April 3, 2015

We definitely recommend Otto's for anyone wanting an excellent dining experience. It was fairly crowded during our last visit, but the service remained fast and friendly. We have dined here before, and love the food from appetizers through dessert. We have visited with large groups as well as for date night...the atmosphere is casual, but also suited to a dinner for two.


Neighborhood favorite. Dined on March 7, 2015

Love this place. Art on the walls, flowers on the tables, and colorful chairs - this place has ambiance. It's cozy without feeling too small. Food is always flavorful and consistent. Portions are perfect. It's easy to tell the chef takes pride in his work. I always recommend this place to friends and family. Definitely one of my favorite places.




April 26, 2014

"Everyone at our table ordered something different off the menu and everyone raved about the food they were eating. One of the group needs gluten free items and the waitress noticed this and brought her some gluten free bread. This has never happened at any other restaurant we visited!"

 

April 23, 2014

"This is a gem! wonderful food consistently prepared. the chef tasting is creative, incredible and an amazing value! knowledgeable and outstanding service."

 

February 1, 2014

Otto's is a favorite. My wife and I have been going for years and had a wonderful experience every time. We're partial to the seafood, but you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The wine list is fun, the selections aren't available in the local shops. As you can tell, we're fans and pleased to give Otto's a top recommendation based on many visits."

 

January 28, 2014

Madison has many excellent restaurants and sometimes we forget the familiar, friendly, and outstanding favorites - notably, Otto's. A great bar, excellent menu, food and service (great service!). The deck is very nice if it ever warms up again. Inside, we prefer the second floor to the third. Just feels ... cozier."

 

December 11, 2013

Always a very good venue for dinner. Great steaks, love the Turkish mixed grill. Great martinis."

 

October 26, 2013

"Easy to make a reservation, true to the time for seating, nice bar, and wonderful food selection with excellent service."

 

October 19, 2013

"We were looking for a cozy spot for our anniversary and Otto's more than fit the bill! This is one of Madison's finest dining experiences. The food, presentation and service are all without peer. Will definitely do this again!"

 

October 11, 2013

The restaurant is built into an old house so the dining area consists of the top two floors and the bar is on the parking/ground floor. We started with a cheese plate appetizer that included crackers, apple slices, grapes, and a fantastic blue cheese my wife loved. The wine choices were also good with a notable Adelsheim Pinot Noir appearing on the menu. For our entrees we ordered the sea bass and New Zealand lamb chops. The lamb chops were so incredibly delicious - kudos to the chef! The sea bass itself did not have a lot of flavor by itself but once you mixed it with the sauce it was fantastic. We will definitely by coming back to Ottos again soon!"

 

September 14, 2013

"Awesome. We dine there often and are never disappointed."

 

September 13, 2013

"We have always had incredible experiences at Ottos. We hosted our son's rehearsal dinner there 2 years ago and have been enjoying Otto's ever since. The food, service, and atmosphere are always excellent."

 

September 7, 2013

"Once again we found the service and food to be outstanding. From the appetizer of crab cakes to the seasonal strawberry napoleon for dessert the meal was great. Between the three of us we ordered the scallops, a filet and the roasted portabella mushrooms. All three entrees were so good. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. Once again our dining experience was flawless with no disappointments. Will definitely be back."

 

August 31, 2013

"Otto's is one of our favorite places to dine. Everything is simply superb!"

 

August 29, 2013

"We went to Otto's for our anniversary. The filet was outstanding, service very professional and all around the best time."

 

August 21, 2013

"Hidden off of Mineral Point Road is a wonderful dining experience! We went for our anniversary dinner and the food was awesome as was the service! We highly recommend this restaurant to all who are seeking an excellent meal, great service, and nice atmosphere."

 

April 18, 2012"The restaurant has an excellent selection of main courses. Preparation is consistently excellent and visually pleasing. Service is descreet, timely and competent."

 

April 6, 2012

"The fish was done to perfection. We greatly appreciate the sugar-free desserts as my husband is diabetic."

 

 

March 29, 2012

"I had not been to Otto's in a long time and forgot what a special gem it is in Madison. I have traveled to many great cities across the country and the world, and Otto's can compete with any one of the famous restaurants that puts those places on the map. Their fillet just melts in your mouth! The flavors dance with every bite. Be sure to save room for and try their bread pudding!

 
 

October 19, 2013

Rick S. -- 5 Stars

"There is no doubt that Otto's is a great, classic, establishment.  I have met a number of outstanding, classy, sophisticated, women in the lower level bar.  Bartenders are absolutely excellent.  The bar menu is outstanding & features quality items (not your routine "Bar Food"). Upstairs, where the true spirit of Otto's really shines. By far, the finest dining experience on the West side of Madison.  Quite often I drive by and don't stop, simply because I'm "under-dressed".  Honestly, take a date for drinks and Appetizers in the lower level.  If the date is going well...take her upstairs to demonstrate your level of sophistication."

 

March 23, 2012

Frank S. -- 4 Stars

"Great bar and drinks. They know how to make a decent martini. Duck, salmon, and Mediterranean platter were all excellent. This is a little, off-track place that seems to do everything well."

 

August 17, 2011

Lisa S. -- 5 stars

"Otto's is my go-to restaurant and bar for dates, business dinners and girlfriend get togethers. Kim, the bartender, in the quaint downstairs bar, is a favorite. She remembers your drink order -- always a dirty Belvedere martini and then a glass of fruity pinot noir -- and remembers to refill your water glass. The mussels is my favorite dish on the menu -- a fantastic appetizer or entree with a salad. When looking for more filling dishes, I'll pick the duck or the sea bass. The mediterranean platter is perfect when I feel like a veggie meal, but I also occasionally choose the bruschetta or the crab cakes, which are very nice. Always a great wine list and the upstairs dining in summer (especially Thursday jazz nights) is lovely and relaxing. No one is ever going to hurry you out. If you are looking for quick chain-restaurant service, forget it. This is a slow food place and although the services isn't slow, it's not lightening speed either. And that's the way I like it."

 

July 22, 2011

Kevster -- 5 stars

"Great restaurant! Great service, food and wine list. People are incredibly friendly. Forget about all the fad restaurants around Madison, this place is both classic and cutting edge with its Mediterranean menu and friendly staff."

 

July 27, 2010

Lucas M. -- 5 stars

"Fantastic steaks, great atmosphere, and wonderful service!"

 

April 24, 2011

Steve S. -- 4 stars

"Great local spot! Recommended by my old college roommate and he was right on the mark. Great service, very nice people, great little bar downstairs and the food was excellent. The sea bass was fantastic. Their warm sourdough bread is fantastic. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone - I'm going back the next time I'm in Madison."

 

March 21, 2010

Mindee E. -- 4 stars

"...The host was very accommodating and offered me my pick of tables. I settled on one upstairs (on the 2nd floor of the old farmhouse). I started with the cheese plate where I selected the gouda and petit frere, which came with grapes, apples, and crackers. Very nice presentation and a tasty appetizer. For my entree, I decided on the scallops. The presentation, again, was beautiful. Saffron rice in the center, scallops around the perimiter, with asparagus "bridges" hinged on the rice. I nearly finished the entire plate -- very, very delicious. I recommend the restaurant as a relaxing evening out when you want to be assured you are going to get a great meal..."

 

February 18, 2009

Busaba D. -- 5 stars

"The most delish food in Madison. This is where you take a date if you really want to impress him/her. The food is so good, but it can be a bit rich. Sometimes there is live music on the patio. The drinks are yum. It's not cheap here but it is well worth the price. Also nice is that Otto's is in a non-convenient location making it more of a hidden gem than a trendy restaurant."

 

December 4, 2009

K.C -- 5 stars

"Very good food -- and reliably good. Very nice staff and cozy atmosphere. Check out their happy hour when they serve hors d'ouevres 1/2 off."

 

 

From Urbanspoon.com

 

September 24, 2010

Danny G (mobile review) - Likes it

"Sea bass was excellelent! Great place! Great service too! Can't wait to try it again. It's in an old house, which I wasn't expecting, but the ambiance was very nice."

 

October 9, 2010

Gail Anderson Cywinski (mobile review) - Likes it

"Wonderful outdoor patio! Great food and service. Neighborhood gem!"

 

July 20, 2009

Karen - Really likes it

"The sea bass is wonderful. Spinach as well. Great service and ambiance."

 

February 15, 2009

Caimeg (mobile review) - Likes it

"Best in town."

 

 

From the Media

 

The Janesville Gazette, May 2009

Madison's Hidden Gem: Otto's Excels in Mediterranean Cuisine, Fine Service

(by Bill Livick)

"Otto's Restaurant & Bar is one of the understated gems of the Madison dining scene. Located in a beautifully restored 1870s stone farmhouse on Mineral Point Rd., Otto's serves first-rate Mediterranean cuisine and great drinks, and it features outstanding service in a comfortable, elegant setting....Owner Kamil Tanyeri has been running Otto's for more than 13 years and has refined it to an impeccable operation. There's plenty of onsite parking and, as mentioned, the service couldn't be better." Rated: 4.5 'plates' out of 5 for food, service and value.

 

The Capital Times

Best Old Favorite of 2008 (by Susan Troller)

"If it's fixed, don't break it. That's been the policy at Otto's Restaurant on Mineral Point Road for many years, and it's easy to see why customers are so loyal. There are no surprises: The food is excellent and the drinks deftly mixed and sophisticated. Sitting on the deck listening to jazz on a summer evening is as close as any grown-up is likely to get to treehouse paradise."

 

The Capital Times, July 2008

Fantastic Food, Jazz on Otto's Deck (by Susan Troller)

Click here to read the full review.

 

Isthmus, August 2008

by Jerry Minnich

"Since opening Otto's more than a dozen years ago, owner/chef Kamil Tanyeri and his wife, Dana, have built a loyal and appreciative clientele with outstanding Mediterranean and Continental cuisine, great drinks, excellent service and comfortable yet elegant ambiance. Best of all, the quality is consistent." Jerry Minnich, Isthmus, August 2008. Click hereto read the full review.

 

Capital Region Business Journal, August 2008

Contributed by Cindy Flinchum, Bouril Design Studio

"When I need to focus on a client and step out of the fast pace of every day, I head for Otto's...The right mix of relaxed elegance, with a feeling of privacy, and the excellent food makes this a perfect choice to bring clients...The only thing Otto's could do to improve is to open for lunch!"